How to delete online social media accounts that are no longer used

Protecting your identity online is essential for your brand, reputation and solvency, much more important than updating your Instagram and Facebook every day. Several times a year, the news will cover a serious breach of information from major banks, insurance companies and / or social media platforms. Once the data is taken, it can be used incorrectly or even cause identity theft. Deleting your old social media accounts is a vital step to help ensure some identity protection measure. It is imperative that you maintain your online access to your current accounts in a safe and secure manner and that you delete old accounts.

Here is a guide that will help you delete your old accounts on the most popular social networking sites.

Facebook
Moving on to the greatest social media platform of all time, Facebook, with more than one billion users, simplifies things and makes it incredibly easy to deactivate your account.

Once you enter the “settings” tab from the down arrow in your browser, select your Facebook information and then select delete your account and information. “When you are in this menu, you will delete your account and you must add the password to confirm .

Firm
Foursquare came to the Internet more than a decade ago for friends to know where you are and to find out where they are. To delete your Foursquare account, you will have to access the platform from your computer. Go to the “privacy” settings tab where you must scroll to the bottom of the page and find an option to delete your account. When you select this option, you will go to a page where you must confirm if you want to delete your account or not.

Google
Google is the undisputed leader of the search engine with one of the most interconnected ecosystems. By creating an account for Google, you can access a large number of different applications and websites without creating separate accounts. To delete your Google+ or Gmail account, you must delete your entire Google account.

Go to “Google account settings” and choose “delete account and services”. There you will see the option “delete products”, where you can access all your Google applications. You must log in to all websites before you can delete your account.

Instagram
The younger brother of Facebook is possibly the most used social media platform by Millennials, according to Hootsuite. Thanks to its focus on visual communication, it is the ideal place to find talented artists.

Deleting your account is very simple and it takes a short time to achieve it correctly. While you can manage your privacy settings using the mobile application, you must go through an Internet browser to delete your account. Simply go to the “delete your account” page, and there you will have to provide a reason to delete your account. Once you provide the reason, you will provide your password and then select the option to permanently delete the account.

Linked in
LinkedIn is the social network for professionals looking for new opportunities to connect with other professionals and grow their business and careers. If you are on the platform, the profile must be complete and updated. If you no longer use the platform, delete the account. In the upper right corner of any LinkedIn page, you will first need to access the “privacy and settings” tab. From there, choose the “account” tab and then select to close your LinkedIn account. You will have to give your opinion and verify your account before you can delete it. From there, you will see a publication that will inform you about the consequences of deleting your account and then the final page that will be to confirm.

My space
This social media platform has been bought and sold several times since its glory days (2005 to 2009). In 2016, its database was violated and filtered to a dark market website. To delete your MySpace account, you must first log in to the account you wish to delete. From there, select the “gear” icon and choose the “account” tab. There, you will see an option to delete your account. Before you can delete your account, you must provide a reason after which you will receive a confirmation email. Open the email and follow its instructions.

Pinterest
Pinterest is a web-based bulletin board or bulletin board, a place to mark images that are online. To delete your Pinterest account, you will first have to go to the triple point icon on the website and select the “edit settings” option. From there, you must go to the “account” page and select “deactivate account”. From there, you will click “yes” to receive an email, which you must open and follow to delete your account